Pilot

“The secret to getting ahead is getting started.” 

Samuel Langhorne Clemens, or as we know him; Mark Twain, could not have arranged these words in a better way than he did. I do not think I qualify to be even called a novice in writing, let alone blogging. But I am sure that to possibly improve at anything, I need to begin, I need to explore and face it for real. And this is precisely what I plan to do here. I am not chasing anyone, I do not intend to get ahead of anyone but myself-from who I was yesterday.

“A ship in port is safe, but that is not what it was built for.”

I could have decided against starting this blog. Believe me, I had serious doubts and a plethora of excuses as well. I know it will not be an easy task, but when has something worthy been easy to achieve? I know it will not be facile to post content that is relevant, and to post relevant content on a regular basis once the initial enthusiasm fades out. But I will keep trying. I will push myself harder specially when I do not want to. This blog is going to be a reply to my life of being irregular and leaving things incomplete.

You might be thinking, everything seems alright, but who is that in the picture? Is it a random picture? The answer is NO! This is retired Captain Chesley Sullenburger. He successfully landed US Airways Flight 1549 in the Hudson River back in January 2009 sans any loss of human life. He not only saved 155 lives that day, but so many more.

You might be impressed, but it still doesn’t explain his picture here. He had been a pilot for decades, but it was those odd 210 seconds for which he became a hero. He had achieved something which no pilot had, executed something for which no pilot is ever trained. He was successful because he wasn’t thinking of dying that day, he wasn’t going to let the situation make a coward of him. But all his optimism combined with the wealth of his experience would have gone down the drain had he not trusted himself and kept a cool head. And no matter how spectacular his feat was, he never failed to acknowledge that it was a team effort. Everyone – his co-pilot, the crew, the souls aboard, the rescue operators as well as the scuba cops had made this miracle possible. This is what moved me the most.

We all are what we are not only because of our experiences, but also because of the people around us. It is something that one cannot exclude from the equation. Each one we meet contributes in some big or small, direct or indirect way.  I am a sum total of the values and beliefs shared by my family, my teachers, my friends, my peers, even co-travelers and the interactions with them over the years. So what I write here will definitely be reflecting their impressions on me to an extent. Hopefully, my contributions here will emanate the uniqueness  and give you something good to read at the same time. I hereby begin this new journey of learning and sharing with you.

Shashank.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

